A whole lot of real, which will hopefully be funny and make you happy?

I WAS hoping to link up with Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real this week, the always-entertaining linkup from Like Mother, Like Daughter in which bloggers share one photo or thought in each category. For example, a blogger who has is it all together might post a pretty photo of her carefully curated and liturgically appropriate prayer corner, a happy photo of her clean and laughing children, a funny anecdote from a child’s creative imaginative play, and a real photo of a baby covered in smushed bananas, because babies will be babies.

Well. Friends, we just moved into a new house right after the baby was born and my husband is working 70 hour weeks. Ain’t nobody got time for making things around here pretty. We aim for functional and mostly sanitary. I’m just proud when I manage to get the laundry and dishes into the correct magic cleaning machines (what did moms do before machines?!) and a mostly-homemade dinner on the table by the crack of 8pm.

Social interaction is pretty rare since my toddler won’t wake up until 11am (due to a combination of the baby waking her up at night, daylight savings and her just plain taking for-ev-er to fall asleep at night). All toddler activities and playgroups take place at 9 or 10 am. It’s an unwritten law. Not that I want to take her out anyway since her behavior has been so bad the last week. To be fair, she’s a really good kid and I know the screaming and crying could be much worse- it’s just that I also know she can do so much better! Gah! We ventured out to the mall last week for a couple unavoidable errands and her SCREAMING- oh my word- I am still cringing. We might never go to the mall again.

On the plus side, we managed to hold our first gathering at the new house. It happened quite by accident- Matt wanted to grill out for lunch in our lovely springish weather, so he invited his brother over, except his brother had friends over at his house already, so the whole gang came over to our place for the afternoon. There was some frantic tossing of dirty dishes into the sink and some speedy removal of empty cardboard boxes from the family room, but oh well. If I wait for my house to be clean to invite people over, I’ll never invite people over, and I want our home to be a gathering place.
image

Mary loved having so many grownups at her house since she thinks every grownup is a new playmate. She roped everyone into playing with her.
imageNow Matt has a stomach bug/ food poisoning/ plague and it must be horribly awful because he actually stayed home from work today and hasn’t tried to get out of bed. I’m just hoping and praying that none of the rest of us get it, because of the four of us, he is easily the least whiny. Sorry, hon. Thanks for taking one for the team.

I’m off to deal with the very real toddler screaming in her crib because she doesn’t want to nap and I should probably check on my long-suffering patient upstairs. Happy Monday!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Erin

     /  March 16, 2015

    Fabulous post! Very real. Very awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

