Insert witty title here?

You know what blog readers LOVE? Another rambling update about our lives! I knew it!

Last week, Mary and I did VBS at a sweet local church that we will probably be joining soon? Maybe? Michigan, you have so many Catholic church options in a twenty minute radius and it’s a lot for a pregnant mama to handle when trying to select a church for her family to attend for the next 50 years!! (Deep breath. Ok.) So we did VBS and it was mostly awesome. Mary hung out in the nursery where they have copious toys and tiny babies (we had several talks about how those are not toys). There were also enough teen girls so each toddler pretty much had his or her own teen to boss around for the week, a perk that Mary took full advantage of. I almost felt sorry for Mary’s teen when I caught sight of Mary ushering her outside for another round of  bubble-blowing or playground-hopping. Almost, but not quite. I exchanged freedom from my tyrannical toddler for responsibility for twelve third graders. They were a pretty good bunch, but their combined energy level far exceeded my toddler’s and Mary and I enjoyed desperately needed naps every afternoon last week.

hot dog

Seriously into the post-VBS-picnic hot dog offerings.

 

On Saturday, Matt and I attacked the remaining boxes in the apartment with great fury and now our place looks much more livable. Mary made her suffering known with loud whiny protests as we went through box after box of books in our storage unit. Hmm, I thought, her nose is running a bit. Probably all the fake crying.

Veteran moms know what’s coming next. On Sunday we all fell ill with the post-VBS head cold of doom. We turned down doughnuts after Mass because we were feeling so bad. Mary and I took naps, Matt went out on a twelve mile run (we have different definitions of discomfort) and when he came back Mary was laying on top of me on the couch watching Sesame Street. The couch-laying and Sesame Street binging continued pretty much through Monday night, when I collapsed into bed for a heavenly 12+ hours of sleep. Today I’m feeling much better and so is Mary. Matt continues onward with his takes-more-than-a-cold-to-get-me-down attitude. When I woke up this morning, I found that he had done two loads of dishes, a load of diapers and straightened up the kitchen. All while sick. That man’s a keeper.

Pollywog, the internal baby, is still doing well. I’m starting to wear maternity bottoms because I got tired of tight waist bands, but I don’t really look pregnant yet. I had my first person ask me when I was due, which was a nice affirmation that I don’t just look like I’m putting on extra pounds. I’m starting to flip out a little at the idea of having two little people to care for. Life is pretty comfortable right now with the one-to-one ratio Mary and I have going on. We’ve got our little routine and she’s old enough that we can do lots of things during the day together. I’m nervous about upsetting the status quo. Mary’s newborn phase was NOT my favorite so that’s making me anxious too.

turtle

On a recent mommy-daughter outing to the Matthei Botanical Gardens. She climbed up there all on her own and she was SO PROUD.

I can just feel it in my bones that this is going to be awesome, though. The best thing you can give a kid is a sibling, right? They’re going to have so much fun growing up together. And Matt and I will have another bundle to love and adore and obsess over. Did you see that thing the baby just did?! Yep… we’re blessed.

That’s what we’re up to, friends. What’s new with you? Tell me all of your grand summer adventures!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Never forget, my dear, you & Matt are not alone in this. You know that I’m just down the road if you ever need coffee, childcare or company. Also, I’m totally going to be following up with you about that church…

    Reply

Leave a Comment

