T Minus Eleven Days

moving boxes meme

The countdown is on- eleven days until we leave our home of two years, hand over the keys and depart for Louisville. I’ve never lived this long in one dwelling except my childhood home, and packing has been (predictably) pretty miserable. We’ve accumulated SO much stuff. We are giving a lot away (especially clothes) but it still seems like our stuff doubles in size when we pack it into boxes (especially books).  Complicating everything is the fact that Matt’s company is putting us up in a furnished apartment, but they have not yet provided us with a LOCATION for our future residence… which is kind of a big deal when you’re moving a whole family.

The flip side of all the physical effort of moving is the mental process we’re going through. Saying goodbye to our first apartment as a married couple… where we brought our first child home from the hospital… where she learned to sleep through the night and sit up and crawl and walk… it’s not easy. We have a million photos of Mary in this place but she won’t remember it at all. We’ll come back to Michigan next year but we will live somewhere else. I’m really going to miss this apartment.

Mary wants to be sure we don't forget her as we pack for our big move --)

I’m anxious too about moving to a place where we don’t know anyone. We don’t have a TON of support up here in Michigan, but I can get childcare for Mary in a pinch and we have a few good friends nearby. My (admittedly somewhat creepy) temporary solution to this anxiety has been googling groups Mary and I might join in Louisville- moms’ groups, crafting groups, blogging groups, even a New to Louisville group. It’s kind of ridiculous, but I feel more secure about this move because of a few facebook posts from strangers welcoming us to town. It’s the little things, you know?

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Living life is a grand adventure, how you are blessed! Prayers for sanity within the upheaval and blessings for this new chapter. It is as most things, stressful and exciting. And a welcome is a big thing – congratulations!

    Reply
  2. Welcome to Louisville!! I moved here five years ago and knew nothing and no one! I seriously blindly picked KY on a map and made the move! I’d be happy to show you what I know and introduce you to great peeps!! Louisville Bloggers is a fantastic place to begin!! I look forward to meeting you!

    Reply
    • Thanks Molly!! Looking forward to meeting you too. So far I have been super impressed by how welcoming Louisville people are, and we’re not even there yet!

      Reply
  3. You know that I’m praying for you… and if you need help with the move, either someone to pack boxes or someone to watch the baby while you pack, you know how to find me. I’ll miss you so much! Louisville, you better take good care of this awesome family!

    Reply
    • Thanks hon. We’ll miss you too! Good thing Louisville isn’t that far and the auto industry isn’t leaving Michigan any time soon 🙂

      Reply
  4. Good luck with the move Laura! Give a shout when you get settled in and let’s go grab coffee! There are several cute cafés and I’m sure plenty of the ladies from #LouBlogs will want to join too. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Kirsten! I’m a certified coffee addict, and going to new coffee shops is pretty much my favorite way to get to know a town, so I’m already looking forward to getting coffee with you 🙂

      Reply
  5. Louisville is a great city and very hospitable. Please do let us know when and where you settle, and I’m sure there will be plenty of people eager to help you get to know the area and feel at home! I have a 17-month old boy, and I’m always on the lookout for new mom friends, especially those who blog!

    Reply
    • Thanks!! Mary and I would love to hang out with you and your little guy when we get settled in. Mary is a super social baby and is always happiest when there are other little ones around.

      Reply
  6. Nikki

     /  July 25, 2013

    so I’m curious, where exactly did you find my blog? sorry, I just find it interesting how people come across it. I totally know how ya feel with moving to kentucky and not knowing anyone. we’ve been here for 2 years now. if you need any help or suggestions let me know.

    Reply
  1. 7. NAME: JÜRGEN ALTENDORF & FAMILY Citizenship: Germany Year Torture/Abuse Began: 1994 | Stalking, WebOps, Bullying , Tapping, Perpetrators, Terrorisme, False flags, Zerzetsen, Fachisme, STASI .... VICTIMS !!
  2. 7 Quick Takes: Vacation Slides | Elizabeth Ann Dillon

Leave a Comment

