Baby graces

Mary is happily pulling her board books off the second shelf and dumping them on the floor, so I grab my phone and check Instagram. I look up a moment later and find that she has crawled over to my chair. She’s pulled herself up so she can peek over the edge at me. She holds out a block with one hand, offering. Her eyes are big and round, her eyebrows raised. I take the block and smile, “Thank you!” She smiles back, proud to have caught my attention. I set my phone aside, out of her reach, and join her on the floor. We pass blocks back and forth. She piles them in my cupped hands until they overflow.

—-

Linked up with Just Write at the Extraordinary Ordinary. Click on over to read more moments, freely written.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Dear Laura
    I remember this wonderful time with my two sons as well when they were babies. So incredibly precious. Now they are young men and I miss those times.
    Blessings from Heather’s.
    Mia

    Reply
    • Thanks Mia. I know it’s a privilege to have this time with my daughter. I try to remember that when she’s being… less than adorable 🙂

      Reply
  2. hands overflow, indeed.
    And mine tend to overflow more often when I do set that phone down, despite the awesomeness of instagram! 🙂

    Beautiful snapshot.
    Emily
    http://www.weakandloved.com

    Reply
    • Instagram is, in fact, fantastic. Thanks for stopping by!! I think it’s fun that our blog names are so similar 🙂

      Reply
  3. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much
    more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

    Reply
  4. JeHfhfe,. Oddly enough, it happened about a block away from a switch yard. If you know the Bywater, the tracks that cross St. Claude two blocks up from Montegut St. feeds into it.

    Reply
  5. Why do Libertarians have such an idee fixe over the Department of Education, which accounts for less than 1.8% of total Federal spending in the 2013 budget? I am not convinced there needs to be a cabinet level Dept. of Ed., but it seems to me there much bigger problems for Greens and Libertarians to focus on than this.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

