Becoming parents

Matt has read in his father guidebook that it’s a good idea for a dad to read stories to his fetus, so that when the baby is born, her dad’s voice already relaxes her. So we sit side by side on the couch and he opens Curious George. He kisses my belly. “Hi, Mary! I’m going to read you a story now!” The joy in his voice fills my heart to overflowing.

It’s all still so surreal for me, this whole parenting thing. Matt talks to Mary every day and tells her he loves her. He rubs my belly and gives her kisses. I’m much more likely to talk about Mary than to her. It feels silly to look at my belly and tell my child that I love her. I do, of course. But it’s sometimes hard to remember that the nudges and kicks inside my belly are coming from a real live person who will soon be making her grand entrance. I try to imagine her as a newborn, a toddler, a kindergartner, but all I can picture is her fuzzy silhouette from the ultrasound screen. I have no idea what’s coming. There is no way I can be ready.

He spots the worried lines in my forehead from across the room and comes to soothe them with a kiss.

All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.
– St. Julian of Norwich

 

Linked up with Heather of Extraordinary Ordinary for Just Write. 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. There is no way you can be ready – that is so right, coming from an experienced mom. I wish I could say you will know, and often you will, but sometimes, you have to ease into knowing, and learning with that first one can be hard. However, it is well worth it and the time flies. Kindergarten really will be here before you know it. So take it as slowly or as swiftly as you need, even the in utero ones (sorry I know you can’t speed up time in utero). 😉 Blessings!

    Reply
    • Thanks Jamie! I appreciate your comment about easing into knowing. I’m a perfectionist and expect myself to get everything right the first time, so it’s going to be a challenge for me to be patient and let the knowledge come slowly. It helps to hear from others who’ve gone through this before me that it’s ok to make mistakes 🙂

      Reply
  2. THe transition from no kids to one child I think is really hard.

    But it is worth it.

    After I had all my first baby, I experienced postpartum depression. But it was worth going through that yuck for my now family of 6 (4 of them being my kids).

    It’s good to realize you don’t know what you are getting into. And don’t be shy to ask for help. But know know KNOW that you can trust your instincts. You really can because God gives us them for a reason!

    Congratulations!

    Reply
    • Thanks Gianna! I’m going to be on the lookout for postpartum depression for sure. Trusting my instincts is going to be hard for me, I think- thanks for the encouragement.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

