Home Is Wherever I’m With You Embroidery Hoop Art (7I7 Day 4)

Tonight I learned two things: 1) Our current apartment really has the worst lighting for taking photos ever. A cave would be better. 2) When Matt’s at work all night, I am capable of spending hours perusing the internet looking for just the right Lenten song for our family to sing every evening. Still haven’t found it, in case you have any ideas.

On that positive start, let’s talk about today’s blogger homage-ee ( <– not a word). Jenna of Call Her Happy is one of my favorite new-to-me blogs. I only started reading her site in the last few months, but man, I am hooked now! She’s so funny and honest and kind and and and- just go read her stuff. And you better believe that when we move back to Michigan I will coerce her into being real-life friends!

A while back Jenna started posting pictures of gorgeous embroidery works-in-progress. Then the whole entire Catholic mommyblogger community was all, show us how! So she did. Annnnd that is the short story of how Matt’s chief Valentine’s Day present came into existence:

finished home is hoop 2

 

 

 

The quote is from a song by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes called “Home.” It played on the radio a lot when we first moved to Louisville and this line has always stuck with me. We might not be as settled as we would like to be, but at least we have each other.

finished home is hoop

In case you want to make your own hoop, here’s the template I made for myself. Just click on the image to get the full-size version.

design home is

 

And here’s the flipped version, all ready for iron-on transfer to your fabric  ( <— tutorial by that talented Jenna again!)

design flipped

 

Woohoo! Thanks for all the inspiration and expertise, Jenna! Tomorrow check back for Seven Quick Takes with Jen at Conversion Diary :-)

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This is awesome, it turned out so well!

    Reply
  2. This is completely adorable! It turned out fab fab fab! And, we are totally going to be friends IRL ;) Thank you for all of the kindness!!!

    Reply
    • Yay, thank you! I’m getting excited to move back to Michigan :-). One of my big worries has been losing the community we’ve built in Louisville. While we’ll definitely miss our friends here tons, I need to remember that Michigan has wonderful people too. Can’t wait to hang out :-)

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 801 other followers