Five favorite dinner recipes from someone who doesn’t love cooking (7I7 Day 3)

Day 3 and going strong! Today I’m going to talk about one of my favorite bloggers and one of my favorite linkups. Everyone knows who Hallie is, right? Surely she doesn’t need an introduction. She’s a giant in the Catholic blogging world, a successful and published author, and still sweet-as-pie. She’s not one of those women who lets success go to her head. She’s kind, approachable, and holy moly she is stylish. Every week she hosts this fantastic linkup called Five Favorites. The beauty is that your five favorites can be ANYTHING- books, nail polishes, memories, quotes, pictures of your cat, whatever! I am thrilled at how many of my favorite bloggers participate in this linkup every week because I’m always finding good product recommendations and books suggestions and new blogs to read.

I thought about sharing five favorite books I’ve read recently but that would be kind of a cop out. I post little reviews over on Goodreads and and none of the books I’ve read lately are non-bestsellers. So instead I’m going to share with you five favorite dinner recipes.

Many of my friends are excellent cooks. They enjoy cooking. It’s a relaxing activity for them at the end of the day. Me? I usually start cooking dinner for Matt and I around 8, after the baby goes to bed, and by then I’m just done with anything resembling a chore. So I like dinner recipes that are tasty, relatively simple, have some variety, and don’t dirty up every pot in my apartment. Once dinner is done I can move forward with the main event of the evening: relaxing. Other worn out mamas, please tell me you can relate!

All credit for the following recipes and pictures go to the original authors, linked below. I am forever and always a recipe follower not a recipe maker.

1. Quinoa and Black Beans

quinoa and black beans

 

Tasty, healthy, and Lent-friendly! I love this one because I nearly always have the ingredients in my pantry and fridge. The tot likes it too- bonus! Don’t forget the cilantro. It really ties the whole dish together.

2. Sweet and Spicy Shrimp and Soba Noodles

sweet and spicy soba noodles

This one is at the far limit of what I consider an easy recipe, but my husband loves it so much that I’m ok with a little extra effort. I had to add a few things to my pantry, like rice vinegar, sesame oil and soba noodles, but now that I have them I almost always have the ingredients for this recipe on hand. Go easy on the red pepper if you don’t like spice (like me!)- you can always sprinkle a little more on at the end if you want. And chop up the red peppers into bite size pieces instead of leaving them in strips like in the picture. Otherwise you’ll be trying to cut your peppers in your bowl with your fork edge, and I can say from experience that it doesn’t always end well.

3. Easy Chicken Masala

easy chicken masala

Oh my gosh, so tasty! I have to remember to assemble the marinade ahead of time, but it’s one of those awesome flexible marinades that can be done a couple hours to a whole day before you’re going to cook. I use cut up chicken breasts without any trouble- no need to buy bone-in chicken if that’s not your thing. When Matt first tried it, he asked if all chicken could be made this way, always. Direct quote. I usually serve it with jasmine rice and steamed veggies.

4. Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

slow cooker pepper steak

I’m pretty sure I heard about this recipe for the first time from Jen and it’s a keeper, just like her. I use it to feed crowds and I send it over to new mamas. After trying it both ways, I like this recipe better when cooked on high because the veggies hold together better. I make this easy recipe even easier by using frozen pre-sliced pepper and onion strips from the grocery store. Taking lazy to a whole new level in this casa- especially when I use a disposable liner in my slow cooker. Bam.

5. Italian Chicken Breast with steamed veggies and rice

No picture for this one because it’s my ultimate lazy meal: I pour italian dressing over a still-frozen chicken breast, chuck it in the oven for an hour or so at 350, and then steam some frozen veggies in the microwave and make rice in the rice cooker. Done and done.

Now off you go to Hallie to read about more favorite things!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Drool! These sound great! I wish I lived in Kentucky.
    Thanks for sharing these!

    Reply
  2. I am definitely going to try those shrimp and soba noodles. You are so right about the pepper, too… strips look prettier, but are a big pain when it comes time to actually eat. The slow cooker pepper steak looks pretty good, too.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 762 other followers