A day in the life (7I7 Day 2)

Welcome to Seven Posts in Seven Days, Day 2! If you are new to the party, this week I am joining Jen and legions of other bloggers in writing a post every day. My plan is to use each post to highlight one of my favorite bloggers and imitate a little of what I love about them. Yesterday we talked about blogging phenom Grace and I got honest about the rough patches of mothering a toddler. Today we’re going to talk about Ana of Time Flies When You’re Having Babies. How awesome is her blog title, by the way? So witty, that Ana. Ana and her husband have three daughters and another bambino on the way. She’s Catholic, hilarious, and she lives in South Bend- what more could you want? Sometimes I fantasize a little about moving back to the Bend, going back to my old job at the Center for the Homeless, becoming real-life besties with Ana and Katrina, and raising my family in the shadow of the Golden Dome. Matt could design cars for Studebaker… oh wait. Right. Back to reality. Anyway, whenever a new post by Ana comes up in my feed reader, I click it right away, but I click it EXTRA fast when it’s one of her Day in the Life posts. I LOVE those because she keeps it real and doesn’t sugarcoat all the crazy that comes with mothering little people. I guess maybe I’m also somewhat nosy and I like knowing how other mamas get through the day, especially the infamous post-nap pre-dinner home stretch. Ana’s posts always leave me feeling like we mamas are all doing the best we can, and it’s enough.

So without further ado, here’s what Monday was like in our casa…

7:32 AM: Mary wakes up and cries out for me. She’s still half-asleep, so I nurse her for a couple minutes and lay her back in her crib, hoping to buy another half hour of shuteye.

7:39 AM: Mary is fully awake and raring to go. I lay in bed with my eyes closed and nurse her for as long as she’ll let me. I really need to start going to sleep earlier.

8ish: Coffee’s ready and Mary and I settle on the couch for her morning Sesame Street. 2-3rds through the episode I finally start to feel the caffeine. I read blogs on my phone and check up on instagram while she squeals over Elmo’s World.

9 AM: Elmo’s over and I deny Mary’s requests for another episode. I fetch her morning yogurt and pour myself a bowl of cereal. Mary finally admits that the yogurt is all gone and we wander around getting dressed for the day.

10AM: We’re in the car on the way to a play date at the Creasey Mahan Nature Preserve.  I’m nervous because I organized this outing for several other moms and I’ve never been to this place before. The director assured me by email that their natural history museum is toddler-appropriate, but that sounds like it could go south quickly…

10:30AM: I needn’t have worried. The nature center is darling. There are stuffed animals for the kids to point at, animal pelts to feel, and a toddler corner with books, puzzles, and stuffed animals. A volunteer puts out craft supplies and soon we’re all making birds out of paper plates. Mary impresses me with her glue stick skills- where did that come from?

glue stick master

 

11:30 AM: We say goodbye to our friends and head back towards home. We stop at the grocery store to grab a few things (mainly juice for Daddy- he’s had a head cold and has been drinking nearly half a gallon a day) then we pick up Chickfila for lunch because- surprise!- Daddy’s coming home to eat with us!

12:45 PM: We chow down and tell Daddy about our morning. He’s never come home for lunch before, so this is a treat. He had to pick up some parts that were shipped to our home address. Mary enjoys telling Daddy about the birds she saw through the window at the Nature Center. Daddy and I pretend to understand what she’s talking about, making out the occasional “bird” “cheep” and “sky!”

1:15 PM: Matt’s on his way back to work and Mary and I play on the floor with her toys until naptime. She particularly loves ordering me to lay down on the ground, bringing me a book to read to her, then straddling my back while I read out loud.

2 PM: Naptime. Ahhhh. Mommy takes a little snooze too.

3:15 PM: Mary’s awake and grumpy. I placate her with string cheese, sliced grapes and another episode of Sesame Street. I used to be quite strict about only one Sesame Street per day… then it became one Sesame Street and one Curious George… now most days we have a morning and an afternoon Sesame Street. Sigh. I try not to feel guilty while I read my current library book on the couch (Divergent by Veronica Roth, in case you’re wondering).

4:30- 6:30 PM: My least favorite hours of the day. Does anyone else struggle with the tedium of toddler games? I fold a few loads of laundry in between many many exciting rounds of feed the baby doll, put the stuffed animals to sleep, and her absolute favorite, jump/spin/ run fast.

6:30 PM: While a veggie burger heats up on the stove, I invite Mary to help me make homemade Lara bars. She enthusiastically helps me add ingredients to the food processor and we’re having a grand old time right up until I invite her to press the pulse button. The loud noise of the nuts and dates rolling around terrifies her and even though I promise her that I won’t turn it on again, she whimpers whenever I pass the kitchen counter for the rest of the night.

7 PM: I present Mary with a cheese- and ketchup-covered veggie burger, a chunk of (not homemade) Lara bar and some apple slices. She goes straight for the bar and downs it. Then she ditches the pita bread around the burger, takes a few bites, and decides to just chew the cheese and ketchup off the top instead. The apples receive a nibble as an afterthought.

Mary's motto: Never waste cheese.

Mary’s motto: Never waste cheese.

7:30 PM: I declare dinnertime over and we get cleaned up. Mary helps me straighten the play area before bed. I would say I remember to ask her to do this about half the time? A third of the time? But I really should do it more often because she’s actually helpful at putting stuff away and my motivation to clean toys after she goes to bed is pretty much nil. She even sings a version of the clean up song while she hands me toys: “Keen up, keen up…” (repeat, repeat, repeat)

7:45 PM: Mary’s in her jammies and we snag a quick bathroom selfie before toothbrushing. She’s down for anything that delays bedtime.

If I snuggle you, you'll forget about brushing my teeth, right?

If I snuggle you, you’ll forget about brushing my teeth, right?

8PM: We’ve read a bedtime story, Mary has nursed, and I finally lay her in her crib. She flips over to her stomach and closes her eyes. Ahh- another day in the books.

Many apologies- that was super long, and this is the edited down version! Check back tomorrow for more. I’m going to join Hallie for Five Favorites :-)

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for the look into your daily life! I am also impressed by those glue stick skills. They look like very pretty birds she is making. How is “Divergent”? I’ve been wondering if I should read it before the movie comes out. Darn you combox for not letting me format properly! Hang in there, friend. Your days are long, but you are doing good work. Hopefully, I will see you soon!

    Reply
    • Thanks love!! You would love divergent. Best YA alternate universe novel I’ve read in a while. Looking forward to the next one in the series :)

      Reply
  2. My goodness. What a busy day!!!!!! I so love to see you in this role :-)

    Reply
    • Haha, really, busy? I feel like my days are so slow paced compared to lots of people in the working world. I guess you’re right, though, we’re always doing something.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 801 other followers