Small Successes (Beginning Again)

Every blog I’ve ever written goes through a certain life cycle. At first, I write like crazy, grateful for the outlet. Then life gets busy, or I worry that no one is reading what I write, and I post less often. Finally, I stop posting altogether, convinced that anything worth saying is already being said by someone smarter, wittier and more articulate than me. After a break, though, I remember how nice it is to have a record of our lives to look back on. I think of how useful it is to me to read other moms’ blogs- oftentimes I read a common sentiment just when I need to hear it the most. Even though I’ve heard it before, I love hearing it again. Inevitably, tentatively, I’m back (again). Until the cycle moves forward again.

Today I’m linking up with Small Successes Thursday and offering a few little things I’m proud of lately… (What better way to kick off a new blogging spurt than with a self-centered list that will be shared in a linkup, am I right??)

  1. I’m glad to be home with Mary, but I miss using my skills as a social worker. I finally got around to emailing several local nonprofits to see if I can volunteer somehow with a toddler in tow. It might come to nothing, but it’s more likely to produce results than casually searching job websites for part time social work positions “just to see what’s out there” (not that I’ve ever wasted time doing that… nope…)
  2. When I went to confession in Advent, I received perhaps the best advice I’ve ever gotten in regard to fostering a better prayer life: Light a candle when praying. Not sure why that helps me so much, but prayer has become a  much more regular habit lately. I aim for ten minutes a day of dedicated prayer time in front of my candle. I roughly use the Examen format. Gotta start somewhere.
  3. I had a little breakthrough last night when praying about Mary’s new tantrum habit. I asked God to show me how to help her be less frustrated, and the thought popped into my head that maybe I should focus on helping me be less frustrated. My whole body tenses up when she shrieks over nothing and that emotion leaks into my interactions with her. I’m seeing lots of deep breaths and muttered prayers in my future as I work towards being a better mom. And probably lots of board books, since that’s pretty much our love language.

2014-01-05 09.57.10

What about you? What little successes have you had lately?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. franciscanmom

     /  January 16, 2014

    You might be able to volunteer to teach life skills/baby care classes at a crisis pregnancy center.

    Reply
  2. Love the candle idea. We are an incarnational people, the physical matter matters, it affects how we respond. It seems to me, all three successes are about lighting a candle, deliberately seeking to be light and warmth to others.

    Reply
  3. As someone who has moved MANY times (my husband is retired military) I can tell you that it is hard – but you can do it! You are probably already there and doing it… so I won’t bore you with the what to dos… BUT – I will say, there is so much to see in that area. So many Civil War Forts and the beauty in the outdoors, the birds to watch, etc. AMAZING!
    Maybe contact the local school system and see if they need your help or a local Catholic Charity.
    Blessings,
    Em

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 802 other followers